Is Food Your Enemy?

In addition to her great videos, I just love the books that Jillian Michaels has written, especially her, “Mater Your Metabolism” series of books (including a cookbook and calorie counting guide). Here is the opening to the introduction to her cookbook:

We’ve all heard the famous saying from the doc behind modern medicine, Hippocrates: “Let food be your medicine.” But how many people really look on their food as medicine? And how often does that medicine just not go down in any kind of enjoyable way? If you’re like me, you may have spent most of your life thinking that food was your enemy. I used to think it was simple – the more you eat, the fatter you get – so any way that could help me avoid eating calories should be exploited and explored. God, I was such an idiot. But you don’t have to be.

It wasn’t until I turned 30 that I realized just how wrong I had been. I found myself in the midst of adrenal burnout. which was coupled with other fun hormone-induced issues like hypothyroidism, melasma (big brown spots on my face caused by estrogen dominance), premature aging, and an impossibly slow metabolism. I was forced to recognize that the way I was living wasn’t serving me – AT ALL – and it was time to get some answers. My quest for those answers, and what I would discover along the way, led me to write Master Your Metabolism, my own diet manifesto aimed at combating obesity, disease,and premature aging.

Master Your Metabolism is available from Amazon Books.

The following is courtesy of the BeFit channel on YouTube:

Leave a Reply

