Stop Seeing Food as The Enemy

Writing about her experience with food and dieting, Jillian Michaels writes this in, “Master Your Metabolism”:

I knew that I needed to stop seeing food as the enemy and instead start learning about it as fuel for a long and healthy life.It was this realization that turned the light on for me.

This is really an interesting insight. How many of us see food as “the enemy” instead of trying to learn about it – so that we can live long and healthy lives. Of course the question then becomes, how and where can you actually learn about food?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cardioswag
    May 02, 2012 @ 15:17:50

    That’s such a great way to think about food! I read something a couple of days ago (I can’t remember where) that basically said NOT to think about what you “can’t have,” but instead to think about what your body needs. I know that for me, whenever I think too much about food that is “off limits,” I just want it more. It creates a problem that wasn’t even there before. Adopting a healthy diet is such a psychological game…lord.

    Reply

  2. cardioswag
    May 02, 2012 @ 16:43:50

    Thanks a lot for the link! I’m currently seeing a dietician, which has helped a lot, but I have also read a lot of articles online. My sources are nothing fancy, but it works for me. I have found that WebMD posts some great information about weight loss, fitness, nutrition, etc. I tend to trust sites like this over other diet and fitness sites out there. So many fads and contradictory information, and it’s overwhelming trying to wade through the information overload.

    Reply

    • jgdoyle
      May 02, 2012 @ 17:08:32

      Yes, I agree. It’s really information overload out there. It’s one of the reasons I started this blog – to try to wade through and distill a lot of it, posting the “nuggets” of information that have some real vaule (and can be put to use).

      I started my journey last summer, much like you are now. I’ve been trying to exericse daily (5 – 6 times a week.) and lost about 32 pounds so far.

      Have you incorporated exercise into your program?

      Reply

      • cardioswag
        May 02, 2012 @ 17:23:10

        The information you have compiled in your blog is very helpful! People like me really appreciate it. Yes, I try to exercise about 5-6 times a week as well. I shoot for 6 but most of the time it ends up being more like 5. I’m trying to lose about 15 pounds’ worth of stress weight, and I’m having a hard time since I’m in the “healthy range.” For me, it’s all about my diet, so trying to make some positive changes there.

Leave a Reply

